The Fitzpatrick Scale

Type I (scores 0–7) Light, pale white.
Always burns, never tans

Type II (scores 8–16) White; fair.
Usually burns, tans with difficulty

Type III (scores 17–24) Medium, white to olive.
Sometimes mild burn, gradually tans to olive.

Type IV (scores 25–30) Olive, moderate brown.
Rarely burns, tans with ease to a moderate brown.

Type V (scores over 30) Brown, dark brown.
Very rarely burns, tans very easily

Type VI Black, very dark brown to black.
Never burns, tans very easily, deeply pigmented.