Most Popular in:


Email This Item! Print This Item!

New Officers Elected, Strategies for 2012 Discussed at PCPC Annual Meeting

Posted: February 24, 2012

page 2 of 2

Council president and CEO Lezlee Westine outlined key council accomplishments in 2011, including obtaining bipartisan support for the industry’s legislative proposal to strengthen and enhance regulatory oversight of cosmetics, streamlining the cosmetic ingredient review process, advocating for international harmonization of cosmetic regulations throughout the world, and engaging in social media and other communication’s platforms to get the facts out about product and ingredient safety.

“We will continue our work and build on these accomplishments in the coming year to help ensure a business environment that enables this industry to continue to grow and delight its consumers with safe, innovative products,” Westine said.

Other highlights from the annual meeting included keynote speaker and founder of Jeremy Gutsche, who spoke on how to spot new trends and highlighted the importance of innovation, and a panel discussion—with Bonnie Fuller, media executive and editor of, Chris Elshaw, EVP and COO, Revlon, Inc., Kevin Gallagher, president, Croda, Inc., Emrah Kovacoglu, CEO of Total Beauty Media Group, and Cosimo Policastro, EVP, fine fragrance, Givaudan—that examined how new raw materials and ingredients contribute to innovative product features. Political analysts Charlie Cook and Stuart Rothenberg shared their predictions for the November elections and what they could mean for the beauty industry, and attendees heard insights from leading consumer trends experts from Essence magazine, Univision Communications, and GQ.

The council also elected the following officers:

  • Chairman: Scott Beattie, chairman, president and CEO, Elizabeth Arden
  • Vice chairs: Virginia Drosos, group president, global female grooming, P&G; Chris Elshaw, EVP and COO, Revlon; and Heidi Manheimer, CEO, Shiseido Cosmetics (USA)
  • Secretary: Linda Marshall, CEO, Elysee Scientific Cosmetics
  • Treasurer: David Holl, president and CEO, Mary Kay