L'Oréal Creates Scientific Advisory Board

L'Oréal announced the creating of a scientific advisory board composed of nine distinguished scientists from diverse disciplines and of varied nationalities, whose mission will be to bring unexpected ideas pertaining to L'Oréal's research fields of interest in order to prepare for the future through the exploration of emerging scientific and technological domains.

Laurent Attal, executive vice president of research and innovation for L'Oréal, said, "The establishment of the scientific advisory board is essential and a first for L'Oréal. It is essential because science is the basis of all our innovations. In a rapidly changing world, the board's reflections will contribute to strengthening the link between science and beauty worldwide, and as such will be an extraordinary source of inspiration and guidance for L'Oréal."

The board will meet twice a year and will be presided over by Jacques Leclaire, who will lead the board's discussions. The board itself includes:

  • Bonnie Bassler, Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator and Squibb professor of molecular biology, Princeton University
  • Thomas Bieber, department chairman and professor of dermatology and allergy, University of Bonn, Germany
  • Vanderlan de Silva Bolzani, professor at the Institute of Chemistry Sao Paulo State University, Araraquara Brazil
  • Elaine Fuchs, professor of cell biology and development, Rockefeller University, New York
  • Nina Jablonski, distinguished professor of anthropology, Pennsylvania State University, Pennsylvania
  • Dominique Langevin, director of research, laboratory of solid state physics, CNRS, University of Paris-Sud, France
  • Samir Mitragotri, professor of chemical engineering, University of California Santa Barbara, California
  • Jun Wang, director BGI (Shenzhen) and professor, University of Copenhagen
  • René Wijffels, chairman of the bioprocess engineering group, Wageningen University, Netherlands
More in News